[Shanghai] Café del Volcán

Café del Volcán

Add: 80 Yong Kang Road, Shanghai 永康路80号
Tel: +86 156 1866 9291
Website: cafevolcan.com
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:00am-8:00pm, Sat-Sun 10:00am-8:00pm
Price: [coffee] RMB26-46; [pastry] RMB12-32
Visited: March 2016
Will return: Definitely

– See my second visit for more coffee and more photos! –

You may recall my fascination with the single origin coffees at Sumerian. While I haven’t had a chance to go back, I’m developing a taste for single origin drip coffees. My latest discovery is Café del Volcán on Yong Kang Road.IMG_4388

Volcán offers a wide selection of beans, which on my visit included beans from Ethiopia, Panama, Kenya, Yunnan…IMG_4389

The barista, a lovely, soft-spoken young woman, recommended the beans from Guatemala (38) for me.IMG_4390

Since I was just starting to learn about coffee beans, I asked her how she would describe this bean. She said it tasted like chocolate, but not a very strong one – probably a 50-60% milk chocolate – with a touch of nuttiness and smokiness. While I can’t speak to what kind of chocolate it tasted like, I did like the slightly smoky richness and the subtle but lingering acidity.IMG_4408

I couldn’t stay long that day, but I would love to spend an afternoon there tasting and comparing different beans. Be back soon!IMG_4392

– See my second visit for more coffee and more photos! –

One thought on “[Shanghai] Café del Volcán

Leave a Reply

